Sri Lanka bat first in final ODI vs Bangladesh

Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat first in the third and final ODI of the three-match series against Bangladesh on Friday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Sri Lanka added three uncapped players— Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratna and Binura Fernando -- and also brought up Niroshan Dickwella in the playing XI.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, overlooked Liton Das and Mohammad Saifuddin. To replace them, Mohammad Naim and Taskin Ahmed have been included in the playing XI.

Liton has been going through a bad patch for a while now. In his last 10 innings, Liton failed to reach two-digit scores on four occasions with three ducks, prompting the team management to re-think his place in the playing XI.

Saifuddin, on the other hand, suffered a blow on his head in the last game. Taskin bowled in the last game as the first-ever concussion substitute in ODIs. As a precautionary step, the team management rested him in the last game.

Naim played an ODI against Zimbabwe earlier last year but didn’t get a chance to bat. He also played nine T20Is for the Tigers and amassed 303 runs with an average of 33.66.

Bangladesh (Playing XI): Tamim Iqbal(c), Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Afif Hossain, Mehidy Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Kusal Perera(c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Chamika Karunaratne, Binura Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera

Source: United News of Bangladesh