T20 world cup qualifier: Nepal defeats Malaysia by 6 wickets


Kathmandu: Nepal defeated Malaysia by 6 wickets in the match held today under the ICC Men's T20 World Cup Asia Qualifier final underway in Kathmandu.

In the match held at TU International Cricket Ground in Kirtipur, Nepal achieved the victory target of 166 runs set by Malaysia at the loss of 4 wickets in 18 overs.

Kushal Malla scored 65 runs in 34 while opener Kushal Bhurtel scored 43 runs to guide the host for a second successive victory. Aasif Sheikh contributed 32 runs while Sandeep Jora scored 18 runs.

For Malaysia, Mohammad Amir took 3 wickets and Pawandeep Singh took one wicket.

Earlier, batting first after winning the toss, Malaysia scored 165 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in the scheduled 20 overs. Opener Syed Aziz scored the highest 68 runs while Zubaidi Zulkilfe contributed 24 runs to the Malaysian total.

For the bowling side, Abinash Bohora took 4 wickets while Sandeep Lamichhane, Gulsan Jha, Rohit Paudel took one wicket each.

In the first match, Nepal defeated Singapore by 8 wickets. In the qualifier, Nepal is in Group A also including Malaysia, Oman and Singapore. Group B comprises the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Hong Kong, Bahrain and Kuwait.

Nepal will now play against Oman on November 2.

Source: National News Agency - Nepal