Rupali Bank emerge champions in Division I Chess League

Rupali Bank Krira Parishad emerged champions in the “Mujib Barsho” 1st Division Chess League now being held at Chess Federation hall-room here.

Rupali Bank Krira Parishad earned maximum 20 points after tenth or penultimate round and clinched the league title with one match in hand.

The tenth or penultimate round matches were held today (Saturday) with Rupali Bank Krira Parishad beat Manha’s Castle by 3.5-0.5 game points. Arpan Das, CM Saiful Islam Chowdhury and Shafiq Ahmed of Rupali Bank Krira Parisad won against CM SM Sharon, FM Mohammad Javed and CM Md Sharif Hossain respectively.

Anata Choudhury of Manha’s Castle split point with Indian IM Neealsh Saha of Rupali Bank Krira Parisad.

Manha’s Castle placed at second position with 17 points and Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar stand at third position with 16 points.

In this round, Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar beat Esoft Arena Chess Club by 3.5-0.5 game points. Feroz Ahmed, Arpan Das (Jr.) and Arya Bhakta of Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar won against Belal Hossain, Siddiqur Rahman and Uten of Esoft Arena Chess Club respectively. Swarnavo Choudhury of Esoft Arena Chess Club split point with Mortuza Mahathir Islam.

Mir Chess Club split point with Dhaka Chess Club by 2-2 game points, Agrani Bank Daba Dal beat Basir Memorial Chess Clyb by 2.5-1.5 game points, Morning Glory Chess Club, Kushtia split point with Khelghar Daba Sangah of Gopalganj by 2-2 game points while Kasparov Chess Club got a walk-over against Dhaka Knight’s Chess Club by 4-0 game points.

The eleventh or last round matches will be held tomorrow at 3 pm at the same venue.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)