Government Policy

President invites five more political parties for talks on EC formation

DHAKA, Dec 30, 2016 (BSS) - Bangabhaban has invited five more political parties in third phase to hold talks with President Abdul Hamid on formation of the new Election Commission (EC).

"Letters have been sent to the address of the offices of five political parties yesterday (Thursday)," President's press secretary Joynal Abedin told BSS.

He said, President Abdul Hamid will hold talks with National Awami Party and Bangladesher Samyabadi Dal on January 4 next year, Communist Party of Bangladesh on January 5, Bikalpha Dhara Bangladesh and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) on January 7.

President Hamid initiated the formal talks with political parties for constitution of the EC on December 18 with holding discussion with BNP.

He also held meeting with Jatiya Party, LDP, Jasod, Krishak Sramik Janata League, Workers Party, Bangladesh Nationalist Front and Islami Oikya Jote.

The President is also scheduled to hold talks with Jatiya Party (Manju) on January 2 next and Bangladesh Tarikat Federation and Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP) on January 3.

He took the dialogue initiative as the tenure of the current Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad-led EC will expire in February next.

According to Bangabhaban, the talks will continue till mid January next year and discussion with ruling Awami League will be held in the second week of January.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)