MC College gang rape: DNA samples of six accused collected

The DNA samples of six men, accused of gang-raping a woman at Sylhet MC College dormitory on Sep 25, have been collected.


The men are – Saifur Rahman, Shah Mahbubur Rahman Rony, Tarek Ahmed, Arjun Laskar, Rabiul Islam and Mahfuzur Rahman.


They were taken to Sylhet Osmani Medical College Hospital in the morning for collecting DNA samples from them, said Jotirmoy Sarkar, deputy commissioner of Sylhet Metropolitan Police.


On the evening of Sep 25, the victim and her husband were in their car when the rapists forcefully picked them up and took them to the dormitory where they raped the girl.


The victim’s husband filed a case at Shahporan Police Station against nine people mentioning the names of six the following day.


The incident sparked massive protests across the country with everyone demanding exemplary punishment for the rapists.


Eight of the accused are currently in police custody. Three separate investigation committees have been formed to look into the incident.


A four-member judicial inquiry committee has visited the spot and held a meeting with the college principal.


The committee members are – Sylhet District and Sessions Judge Mohamamd Bazlur Rahman, Chief Metropolitan Magistrate Abul Kashem, Additional Metropolitan Sessions Judge Muminun Nesa, Additional Deputy Commissioner Sharmin Nesa.


Source: United News of Bangladesh