By-polls to three constituencies on Mar 21

By-elections to Gaibandha-3, Bagerhat-4 and Dhaka-10 constituencies will be held on March 21 as the Election Commission announced schedules for the polls on Thursday.

According to the schedules, the deadline for the submission of nomination paper is February 19, while the date for scrutinising the nomination papers is February 23 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidacy is February 29.

The voting will start at 9:00am and end at 5:00pm on March 21, said EC Senior Secretary Md Alamgir while declaring the election schedules after EC's meeting at Nirbachan Bhaban in the city.

Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will be used in Dhaka-10, while traditional ballot papers in Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies in the elections, he said.

Gaibandha-3 and Bagerhat-4 constituencies fell vacant following the death of Awami League MPs Dr M Yunus Ali Sarker on December 27 and Dr Mozammel Hossain on January 10 last respectively.

But the Dhaka-10 fell vacant as AL MP Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh resigned on December 29 to contest the Dhaka South City Corporation election.

There is a constitutional obligation for the Election Commission to complete a parliamentary by-election within 90 days after the constituency concerned falls vacant.

CCC polls schedule on Feb 16

The EC Secretary said the Commission will announce schedules for Chattogram City Corporation (CCC) election and Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 parliamentary by-polls on February 16.

The last CCC election was held on April 28, 2015 and the five-year tenure of the incumbent corporation, started with the first sitting of the elected public representatives in August 2015, will expire on August 5 next.

The Bogura-1 and Jashore-6 constituencies fell vacant following the death of AL MPs Abdul Mannan on January 18 and Ismat Ara Sadique on January 21 respectively.

Source: United News of Bangladesh