Bangladesh football team to fly to Qatar on Friday

Bangladesh National Football team will leave for Qatar on Friday morning to play in the next month's Group E Joint Qualification of FIFA World Cup' 2022 and AFC Asian Cup' 2023.

Bangladesh team comprises 25 players and 10 officials. They will fly for Doha on a Qatar Airlines flight at 11am.

Bangladesh will play Afghanistan, India and Oman in their remaining three Group E qualification matches on June 3, 7 and 15, all of them at Jassim Bin Hamad Stadium in Doha.

Bangladesh national team, earlier scheduled to leave for Qatar on May 30, are now going to Doha two days ahead of the previous programme.

Captain Jamal Bhuiyan and Head Coach Jamie Day were found upset for for the failure of Bangladesh Football Federation to arrange practice matches in Saudi Arabia.

Earlier, Bangladesh football team were supposed leave for Saudi Arabia last Monday on a five-day visit for training and play a couple of warm-up matches as part of the preparation for their 2022 World Cup and 2023 AFC Asian Cup qualifiers Group E matches in June in Qatar.

But, the tour was aborted just hours before the team’s departure as Bangladesh Football Federation was yet to receive quarantine exemption letter from Saudi Arabia.

Afghanistan and India have already started their preparations in Qatar but Bangladesh had to prepare themselves at home.

Just day before the departure, Bangladesh national team played a preparatory match with former league champions Sheikh Jamal DC and settled for 2-2 draw at the Bangabandhu National Stadium on Thursday afternoon.

Bangladesh football team to fly to Qatar on Friday

Yeasin and Mededi Hasan scored for the national team. Solaiman Sillah netted one for Sheikh Jamal DC while the other goal was a suicidal one.

Bangladesh squad


Goal Keeper -Md Shahidul Alam, Rasel Mahmud, Anisur Rahman Zico

Defender - Md Rahmat Miya, Topu Barman, Riyadul Hasan, Yeasin Arafat, Rimon Hossain, Mehadi Hasan, Habibur Rahman Shohag, Tariq Raihan Kazi and Mohammad Emon

Midfielder -Jamal Bhuyan, Mohammad Abdullah, Masuk Miya Zoni, Sohel Rana, Biplu Ahmed, Md Matin Miah, Rakib Hossain, Manik Hossain Mollah and Md Mehadi Hasan

Forward- Mahbubur Rahman Sufil, Md Sumon Reza, Mohammad Jewel and Mohammad Ibrahim

(Mohammad Ibrahim will accompany the team if found nagative)

Officials: Team Manager-Iqbal Hossain, Obserber-Mohammed Manjur Alam, Head Coach -Jamie Day, Assistant Coach -Stuart Paul Witkiss, Goal Keeping Coach- Leslie Cleevely, Fitness Coach- Evan Razlog, Media Officer/Administrator -Mohamnad Hasan Mahmud, Team Dictor-Nafiuzzaman, Physio -Fuad Hasan Hawlader and Attendant -Mohammad Mohsin.

Source: United News of Bangladesh