5 Gaibandha Razakars sentenced to death

DHAKA The International Crimes Tribunal (ICT)-1

today sentenced five Gaibandha Razakars to death for their monstrous crimes

against humanity committed in 1971.

The first tribunal came up with the judgement almost three months after the

conclusion of hearing in the case.

The death awardees are � Md Ranju Miah, Md Abdul Jabbar Mondol, Md Jachijar

Rahman alias Khoka, Md Abdul Wahed Mondol and Md Montaz Ali Bepari.

Of the convicts, only Ranju is behind bar as all other accused were tried

in absentia.

The three judges of the tribunal read out the summary of the 176-page

verdict one by one as its chairman Justice Md Shahinur Islam read the

sentencing portion.

The ICT-1 on October 14 set today to pronounce the judgement.

The tribunal on July 21 kept the judgement on CAV, curia advisari vult (a

Latin legal term meaning the court awaits judgement), as the hearing in the

case was concluded on that day.

The first tribunal on May 17, 2018, framed four charges of crimes against

humanity against the accused including abduction, confinement, torture and


All the accused were supporters of Jamaat-e-Islami and later joined Razakar

Bahini as the war began in 1971.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)