4-tier security for Rangpur-3 by-poll

RANGPUR The Election Commissioner with the

authorities concerned has built up four-tier security blankets and completed

all the preparations for conducting by-poll in Rangpur-3 parliamentary

constituency tomorrow.

Talking to BSS, Rangpur Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer for

Rangpur-3 by-poll GM Sahatab Uddin said six candidates are contesting in

Rangpur-3 by-poll with their allocated respective symbols.

The candidates are Jatiya Party (JaPa)-nominated Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad

(Plough), BNP-nominated candidate Rita Rahman (Sheaf of paddy), independent

candidate Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif (Motor Car), National People Party-

nominated candidate Shafiul Alam (Mango), Gano Front-nominated candidate

Muhammad Shahidullah (Fish) and Khelafat Majlish-nominated candidate Tauhidur

Rahman Mandal Raju (Wall Clock).

Voters are expecting a triangular contest in Rangpur-3 by-poll among JaPa

candidate Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad, BNP candidate Rita Rahman and

independent candidate Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif.

Earlier, the six candidates and their workers ended their hectic last

moment electioneering at 9 am on Thursday.

The polling will begin at 9 am and continue uninterruptedly till 5 pm

tomorrow using the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at all 1,023 booths in

175 polling centres across the Rangpur-3 parliamentary constituency, the

Returning Officer said.

A total of four lakh 41 thousand and 224 voters, including two lakh 20

thousand and 823 male and two lakh 20 thousand 401 female, are eligible to

cast their votes in the by-election.

A total of 3,244 election officials, including 175 presiding officers,

1,023 assistant presiding officers and 2,046 polling officers will conduct

the voting process at all the 175 polling centres, he said.

Meanwhile, the Election Commissioner has sent the trained election

officials with ballot papers and EVMs to all 1,023 booths in 175 poling

centres, including 49 'important' polling centres, in the constituency.

To ensure peaceful law and order, enforce election rules and prevention of

crimes, 18 executive magistrates, four judicial magistrates and one mobile

election tribunal led by judicial magistrate are working in Rangpur-3 seat,

the Returning Officer said.

In addition to deployment of over 3,000 members of police and Anwar-VDP, 20

roving teams of Rapid Action Battalion, 18 platoons of BGB and members of

intelligence agencies have been deployed to ensure security at all booths for

peaceful by-election.

We have built up four-tier security measures for conducting the by-poll

peacefully in a free, fair, transparent and credible manner, he told BSS at

3:10 pm today adding that the government has declared public holiday tomorrow

in Rangpur-3 seat.

The law enforcement agencies concerned will play their active roles so that

the voters could easily go to the polling centres and cast their respective

votes in a peaceful and festive atmosphere.

The polling will be suspended if any irregularity was reported and proved

at any polling centre during the by-poll and stern legal actions would be

taken against the law-breaker responsible persons, the Returning Officer


Earlier, the Rangpur-3 parliamentary constituency fell vacant following the

death of Leader of the Opposition in the Jatiya Sangshad and JaPa Chairman

Hussein Muhammad Ershad on July 14 last.

On Sept 1, the Election Commission announced the schedule for by-election

in Rangpur seat 3.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)