Victory of democracy celebrated in Rangpur

RANGPUR The Rangpur district and city units of Awami League (AL) and its front organizations today celebrated the Victory Festival of Democracy through day-long programs.

The district and city units of AL brought out separate colourful victory

processions from their respective offices on the city streets with

participations of tens of hundreds of leaders and workers of AL and its

associate bodies.

The leaders and workers of the district, city and Sadar upazila units of

AL, Jubo League, Bangladesh Chhatra League, Mohila Awami League,

Swechchasebak League, Krishak League, Tanti League and other associate bodies

participated in the rallies.

Later, the district AL organised a discussion at its Betpotti party office

with its President Mamtaz Uddin Ahmed in the chair.

General Secretary of district AL Advocate Rezaul Karim Raju, its Vice-

President Professor Mazed Ali Babul, Organising Secretary Tauhidur Rahman

Tutul, Publicity and Publication Secretary Latifa Shawkat, district AL

leaders Wazedul Islam, Mizanur Rahman Tuhin, Advocate Atikul Alam Kallol,

Ershadul Haque Ranju, among others, addressed.

President of city AL Shafiur Rahman Shafi presided over another post-

procession discussion at its office in Betpotti area of the city and leaders

and workers of all 33 ward units of the party were present.

General Secretary of city AL Tushar Kanti Mandal, President of city unit of

Bangladesh Chhatra League Shafiur Rahman Swadhin and leaders of city units of

different associate bodies took part in the discussion.

The speakers said the landslide victory of AL-led 14-party alliance in the

11th parliamentary election held on this day a year ago under the leadership

of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina consolidated democracy in the country.

They called for further strengthening the hands of Prime Minister Sheikh

Hasina to further accelerate the pace of development to realise the dream of

Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman by building a

developed Sonar Bangla.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)