T20I series drawn after AFG better BAN in low-scoring affair

Afghanistan ended their tour of Bangladesh on a high after thrashing the hosts by 8 wickets in the 2nd and final T20I on Saturday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

It was another one-sided affair following the hosts’ drubbing of the touring Afghan side by 61 runs in the first T20I on Thursday.

With this win, Afghanistan managed to end the series 1-1, which will help them rise a spot in the T20 Team Rankings maintained by the ICC.

Bangladesh batted first and posted only 115/9 off their 20 overs. Afghanistan chased it down in 17.4 overs with eight wickets in hand.

On top of defending a low total, Bangladesh fielders missed at least three catches, with one in the first over bowled by Nasum Ahmed.

When Hazratullah Zazai skied the ball, it was in fact Nasum himself who signalled it was his catch and others should stay away, but he dropped it.

Afif Hossain and Mohammad Naim also missed two regulation catches in the deep areas.

Zazai ended up scoring 59 off 45 balls with three fours and five sixes while Usman Ghani posted 47. These ensured an easy win for Afghanistan.

Earlier, Bangladesh openers, Munim Shahriar and Mohammad Naim posted seven runs in the first wicket partnership. Munim, who got a chance in the national team for his ability to hit the ball cleanly, failed to prove his mettle in the first two chances.

Mushfiqur Rahim, who was playing his 100th T20I – only the second Bangladeshi to do so after Mahmudullah Riyad -scored 30, the highest by any Bangladeshi batter in this match.

Captain Riyad scored 21, the second-highest.

Mohammad Naim and Liton Das were the other two batters to have scored a double-digit total— 13 each.

Afghanistan bowled superbly. Left-arm pacer Fazalhaq Farooqi continued to shine taking three wickets conceding 18 in four overs while right-arm pacer Azmatullah Omarzai has also bagged three wickets conceding 22 in four overs.

Bangladesh won the first match by 61 runs at the same venue.

Bangladesh’s next assignment is to play a three-match ODIs and two-match Test series in South Africa starting from March 18. The Tigers will travel to South Africa on March 11.

Source: United News of Bangladesh