Government Policy

SCBA vote counting continues

Counting of voting of the two-day annual elections to the Supreme Court Bar Association (SCBA) is continuing after conclusion of vote at 5pm today.

"Voting of the two-day polls has ended at 5pm today. Counting of votes is going on," said election sub-committee convener heroic Freedom Fighter Md Moniruzzaman told BSS this evening.

He said, on the first day of voting on Wednesday, a total of 2217 bar members cast their vote, he added.

The bar has a total of 8,589 members.

Candidates from Awami League-backed Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad and pro-BNP Bangladesh Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Panel took part in the elections.

Bangabandhu Awami Ainjibi Parishad nominated senior lawyer and incumbent SCBA President Md Momtazuddin Fakir and incumbent Secretary Md Abdun Nur Dulal as candidates for the posts of president and secretary.

Jatiyatabadi Ainjibi Oikya Panel nominated former SCBA secretary and senior lawyer AM Mahbub Uddin Khokon and former secretary Md Ruhul Quddus Kazal for the posts of president and secretary.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha