Govt to honour 44 people as CIP tomorrow

The government will honour some 44 personalities tomorrow as commercially important persons (CIP) (industry) in different categories for their contributions to the country's overall economy through setting up industries, creating employment and increasing national income in 2021.

On the occasion of the award giving ceremony, President Mohammad Shahabuddin and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina issued separate messages, greeting all the award winners.

Agriculture Minister Dr Abdur Razzaque will formally hand over the honour award as the chief guest at Hotel Intercontinental in the capital while Industries Minister Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun, State Minister for Industries Kamal Ahmed Majumder, Cabinet Secretary Md Mahbub Hossain and FBCCI president Md Jashim Uddin will remain present as special guests.

Industries Secretary Zakia Sultana will preside over the function.

In his message, President Mohammad Shahabuddin said the 'CIP (Industry) 2021' award is a unique state recognition for industrialists and institutions and a shining example of the government's continued patronage to the private sector.

"I think the award will motivate industrialists to achieve product excellence and will play a helpful role in increasing productivity," he added.

In her message, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said under the initiative of the Industries Ministry, honoring and giving cards to the eminent persons selected as 'CIP (Industry) 2021' is an important part of the government's patronage and policy support.

"Through this, I think, private sector entrepreneurs will be motivated to use their creativity and innovative abilities in the industrial sector," she added.

She believed that efforts to establish new industries and create employment in the country will be strengthened.

Among the 44 businessmen, six have been selected under the ex-officio category, 25 under large industries, 10 under medium industries, two under small industries and one under micro industries category, said a press release.

Every nominated CIP will get a CIP card and enjoy a number of facilities, including priority in seat reservation at government transports in air, road, rail and waterways, getting invitations at national events and could get special facilities in the government hospitals for ensuring treatment of their spouse and children.

The CIPs will be able to use the cards as passes to use the VIP lounge-2 at the airports.

The CIPs nominated as ex-officio are Sheikh Fazle Fahim, former president of Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FBCCI), Kamran Tanvirur Rahman, former president of Bangladesh Employers Federation, Mohammad Ali Khokon, president of Bangladesh Textile Mills Association, Rupali Haque Chowdhury, president of Foreign Investors Chambers of Commerce and Industry, AKM Salim Osman, president of Bangladesh Knitwear Manufacturers and Exporters Association and Anwar-ul-Alam Chowdhury, president of Bangladesh Chambers of Industries.

CIPs from the large-scale industries (manufacturing) are Managing Partner of Square Pharmaceuticals' Eric S Chowdhury, Chairman of BSRM Steels Ali Hossain Akbar Ali, Pran Dairy Ltd Chairman Md Eleash Mridha, Managing Director (MD) of Olympic Industries Ltd Mubarak Ali, Deputy Managing Director (DMD) Zaber and Zubair Fabrics Ltd Mohammad Abdullah Zaber, MD of ACI Ltd Arif Doula, MD of Popular Pharmaceuticals Ltd Mustafizur Rahman, DMD of Abdul Monem Group ASM Mainuddin Monem, Chairman of Fariha Knit Tex Mohammad Mamun Bhuiyan, MD of Square Food and Beverage Anjan Chowdhury, MD of Hams Garments Ltd Md Shafiqur Rahman, Badsha Textile Mills Sponsor Director Kamal Uddin Ahmad, Mir Ceramic Limited Director Mahreen Nasir, Durable Plastic Ltd Director Uzma Chowdhury, Runner Automobiles Ltd Chairman Hafizur Rahman Khan, Winner Stainless Steel Mills Ltd Chairman Sohel Rana, Tasniah Fabrics Ltd Sponsor Director Ahmed Arif Billah, Shohagpur Textiles Mills Ltd Chairman Abdul Hai Sarker, Envoy Textiles Chairman Kutubuddin Ahmed and Confidence Power Holdings Limited Vice-Chairman Imran Karim.

CIPs from the large-scale industries (service) are STS Holdings managing director Khondoker Monir Uddin, SB Tel Enterprises Ltd managing director Zakaria Shahid, The Civil Engineers Limited managing director Eng Md Atiqur Rahman, Concord Real Estate and Development chairman SM Kamal Uddin and Eastern Housing Ltd chairman Manzurul Islam.

CIPs from the medium-scale industries are Biswas Poultry and Fish Feed Ltd Chairman Md Mahbubur Rahman, Incepta Vaccine Limited Vice-Chairman Akter Jahan Hasmeen Muktadir, MD of Auko-tex Ltd Abdus Sobhan, MD of Jinnat Knitwear Ltd Md Abdul Jabbar, MD of Romania Food & Beverage Ltd Humayun Kabir Bablu, MD of Prome Agro Foods Ltd Md Enamul Hasan Khan, Masco Picasso Limited Director Fahima Akter, MD of Torque Fashions Ltd Mohammed Kamal Uddin, Jinnat Apparels Ltd Chairman Abdul Wahed and MD of M/S Citadel Apparels Ltd Md Mahidul Islam.

CIPs from small-scale industry category are Rangpur Foundry Limited Director Chowdhury Kamruzzaman and MD of Erfan Agro Food Ltd Md Mahbub Alam.

Owner of Masco Dairy Enterprise MA Sabur has been selected for CIP under the micro industry category.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha