BFF goes to polls on Saturday

The Annual General Meeting and much talked about Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) Election 2020 will be held on Saturday (October 3) at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in the capital.


A 21-member full panel named Sommillito Parishad led by long serving president Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin will compete against Sheikh Mohammad Aslam- led 19-member Samonnya Parishad in the election, apart from an independent presidential candidate Shafiqul Islam Manik.


The Sheikh Aslam, Mohiuddin Mohi and Sheikh Maruf-led Samonnya Parishad panel, backed


Bangladesh District and Divisional Football Association and Football Club Association,


will compete in 19 posts out of 21, except president and one vice president, against Kazi Salahuddin’s 21-member full panel.


The Samonnya Parishad failed to give a candidate for the hot seat of BFF president as the long serving BFF vice president Badal Roy withdrew his candidature (after expiry of date line) from the supreme post of BFF citing his critical health conditions.


However, the name of Badal Roy will be included in the ballot paper as president candidate alongwith Kazi Salahuddin and Shafiqul Islam Manik for his late withdrawal.


The Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) elections held in 2016 was full of excitement, speculation, allegations and anticipation of results as two strong panels were competed, but four years later this time, most of those elements are absent, apart from some enthusiasm from football fans who launched social media campaigns to bring about a change in leadership and revive the country’s football.


The previous three elections were fought fiercely between two panels, each backed by influential organisers, but this time around talk of a big spark was seemingly extinguished even before it was lit when District and Divisional Football Association Secretary General Tarafder Mohammad Ruhul Amin pulled out of the election.


Incumbent president Kazi Salahuddin has formed a full panel, keeping most of his executive committee members while the opposition panel could not even choose a presidential candidate.


Salahuddin, who has ruled the Bangladesh Football Federation (BFF) for the last twelve years as president, will face a challenge from his fellow ex-national footballer, as well as ex-national coach Shafiqul Islam Manik, apart from Badal Roy.


Manik, 52, a former sports secretary of DUCSU, who trained national football team and a number of leading BPL teams, surprisingly came to scenario in the last moment collecting nomination paper for the hot seat of BFF, however, made the election someway meaningful after prospective candidate Tarafder Md Ruhul Amin declined to compete in the dying moment.


Former national striker Sheikh Mohammad Aslam who earlier challenged sitting senior vice president and his district mate Abdus Salam Murshedy MP in the post, will lead the Samonnoya Parishad, in absence of president candidate


Forty seven candidates will compete for the 21 posts of the BFF Executive Committee–three for the hot seat of president, two for the senior vice president, eight for vice president and 34 for executive members in the BFF Polls.


Some 139 councilors of BFF will exercise their voting right to elect one president, one senior vice president, four vice presidents and 15 EC members from 2 pm to 6 pm at the Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in the capital, followed by its Annual General Meeting (AGM) at the same venue on the day.


Final candidate lists with ballot number (in bracket):


President: Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin (1), Badal Roy (2), Md Shahfiqul Islam Manik (3).


Senior Vice President: Abdus Salam Murshedy MP (1), Sheikh Mohammad Aslam (2).


Vice President: Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi (5), Tabith Awal (4), Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan (8), SM Abdullah Al Fuad Ridwan (2), Kazi Nabil Ahmed MP (3), Amirul Islam Babu (1), Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan Manik (6), and Imrul Hasan (7) .


EC member: Abdul Wadud Pintu (3), Mohammad Sabbir Hosssin (14), Mohidur Rahman Miraj (11), Manjurul Ahsan (10), Imtiaz Sultan Jony (18), Hazi Mohammad Rafiq (25), ANM Aminul Haque Mamun (20), Arif Hosssin Moon (16), Mohammad Saiful Islam (24), Syed Mustaq Ali Mukul (32), Mohammad Ameer Khan (15) , Hazi Tipu Sultan ( 8), Shahkawat Hosssin Bhuiyan Shahin (31), Fazlur Rahman Babul (21), Hasnuzzaman Khan Bablu (28), Saifur Rahman Moni (23), Mizanur Rahman,(13), Zakir Hossain Chowdhury (7) , Raihan Kabir (26), Harun ur Rashid (34), Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir (27) Satyajit Das Rupu (30), Elias Hosssin (19), Bijon Barua (9), Amit Khan Shuvro (1), Iqbal Hossain (17), Mohiuddin Ahmed Salim (22), Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (12), Asaduzzaman Mithu (4), Kamrul Hasan Hilton (6), Syed Riazul Karim (33), Imtiaz Hamid Sabuj (5), Nurul Islam Nuru (20), Shakil Mahmud Chowdury (29),


BFF president Kazi Salahuddin-led 21-member Sammillita Parishad panel are:


President: Kazi Mohammad Salahuddin, Sr Vice President: Abdus Salam Murshedy MP,


Vice presidents: Kazi Nabil Ahmed MP, Amirul Islam Babu, Imrul Hasan and Ataur Rahman Manik.


Members: Harun ur Rashid, Shawkat Ali Khan Jahangir, Satyajit Das Rupu, Elias Hosssin, Bijon Barua, Amit Khan Shuvro, Iqbal Hossain, Mohiuddin Ahmed Salim , Md Zakir Hossain, Mahfuza Akhter Kiron, Asaduzzaman Mithu, Kamrul Hasan Hilton, Syed Riazul Karim, Imtiaz Hamid Sabuj and Nurul Islam Nuru.


19-member Samonnoya Parishad Panel:


Senior Vice President: Sheikh Mohammad Aslam .


Vice President: Mohiuddin Ahmed Mohi, Sheikh Mohammad Maruf Hasan and SM Abdullah Al Fuad Ridwan,


EC members: Abdul Wadud Pintu , Mohammad Sabbir Hosssin, Mohidur Rahman Miraj , Manjurul Ahsan , Imtiaz Sultan Jony, Arif Hosssin Moon, Mohammad Saiful Islam , Syed Mustaq Ali Mukul, Mohammad Ameer Khan , Hazi Tipu Sultan, Fazlur Rahman Babul, Hasnuzzaman Khan Bablu, Mizanur Rahman, ANM Aminul Haque Mamun and Shakil Mahmud Chowdury.


Source: United News of Bangladesh