Government Policy

AL trying to snatch votes again, just like they did in 2014 and 2018: Fakhrul

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Saturday said their stance is clear that no election will be held under Sheikh Hasina; she has to resign and dissolve parliament.


“She has to hand over power to a caretaker government. That neutral government will hold a free and fair election,” he said while addressing the crowds at Bangabandhu Udyan during BNP’s Barishal Divisional rally.


He said that Awami League is trying to snatch votes again, like they did in the elections of 2014 and 2018.


“They are trying to show that the new Chief Election Commissioner is neutral who said the election will be held using electronic voting machines. But we have strongly opposed it,” he added.


Also read: BNP divisional rally begins at packed Barishal venue


He said the government keeps saying that Bangladesh is self-sufficient in food production and there is development everywhere.


“But the reality is 42 percent people in Bangladesh are still living under the poverty line,” said Fakhrul.


He said the ongoing movement of BNP is not only to save its Chairperson Khaleda Zia, Tarique Rahman or any leaders but also for saving the people of Bangladesh.


He acknowledged and praised party activists and leaders who started arriving to the venue from Thursday, defying all obstacles amid no vehicular movement.


Tens of thousands of BNP activists and leaders joined the divisional rally in Barishal city, demanding the release of BNP Chairperson Khaleda Zia and national election under a non-party neutral government.


Also read: Ishraque says motorcade attacked on the way to BNP’s Barishal rally


The rally began around 11 am at the city’s Bangabandhu Udyan. The crowd spilled out onto the surrounding roads.


Saturday’s rally is be the fifth by the BNP at the divisional level. The first one was held in Chattogram, the second one in Mymensingh, and the third and fourth in Khulna and Rangpur, respectively.


Source: United News of Bangladesh