AL Dhaka city committees declared

DHAKA Awami League (AL) today declared its Dhaka City South and North units' new committees by holding a council in the city.

AL General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader announced the new committees at the second session of the council at the auditorium of the Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh here.

Sheikh Bazlur Rahman and SM Mannan Kachi have been made president and general secretary of Dhaka North unit of AL respectively for the next three years.

Besides, Abu Ahammad Mannafi was made president while Humayan Kabir general secretary of Dhaka south unit of AL for the next three years.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, also president of the ruling AL, inaugurated the triennial council of Dhaka North and South City units of Awami League (AL) as the chief guest by hoisting the national flag and releasing pigeons and balloons in the morning at the historic Suhrawardy Udyan in the capital.

Dhaka North City AL President AKM Rahmatullah and General Secretary Sadeq Khan and Dhaka South City AL President Alhaj Abul Hasnat and General Secretary Shahe Alam Murad were present on the occasion, among others.

The last council of undivided Dhaka City Awami League was held on December 27 in 2012, but the committee was announced on April 10 in 2016 after splitting into two units in 2015.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)