National Youth Hockey: Holders BKSP, Dhaka District make flying start

Defending champions Bangladesh Krira Shikkha Protishtan (BKSP) and former champions Dhaka District team made flying start in the Al Arafah Islami Bank 27th National Youth Hockey Tournament’ 2022 crushing their opponents in two opening day’s fixture at the Maulana Bhasani National Stadium here on Thursday.


BKSP earned an emphatic 12-0 goal victory over Narayanganj District team in the day’s 2nd match.


Earlier in the day’s first match, Dhaka District crushed Shariatpur District by 13-0 goal.


Tanjil Rahman Ronak and Mohammad Emon scored three goals each, Rafiul Haque and Najmus Sabid scored two goals each while Shihab Hossain, Pavel Hossain Pappu and Shahrukh Mia Siam scored one each for Dhaka District team.


Earlier, President of Bangladesh Hockey Federation and Chief of Bangladesh Air Force Air Chief Marshal Shaikh Abdul Hannan inaugurated the meet as chief guest.


Chairman of the meet’s sponsor Al Arafah Islami Bank Ltd Alhaj Salim Rahman was also present on the occasion as special guest.


Two more matches will be held on Friday (Sept 30) at the same venue.


Gazipur DSA will play Shariatpur DSA at 2 pm while Kishoreganj DSA will face Narayanganj DSA at 4 pm on Friday.


A record 57 teams, split into nine groups, are taking part in the first phase of the country wide meet.


The nine zonal venues are: Dhaka, Mymensingh, Khulna, Narail, Dinajpur, Joypurhat, Faridpur, Cumilla and Chattogram.


Source: United News of Bangladesh