Government Policy

EC holding votes in local government bodies across Bangladesh

The Election Commission is conducting election on Wednesday in local government bodies to elect representatives in upazilas, municipalities and union parishads across the country.


The polling started at 8 am and will continue till 4:00 pm.


EC Joint Secretary and spokesman SM Asaduzzaman said police and other security people have been deployed to conduct the elections peacefully.


Unauthorised vehicular movement has been closed in the respective areas, he added.


Elections are taking place in four municipalities of the country while CCTV cameras are being used only in these municipalities.


These are- Fatikcchari Municipality of Fatikcchari Upazila of Chattogram, Hazrabari Municipality of Hazrabari Upazila of Jamalpur, Parvatipur Municipality of Parvatipur Upazila of Dinajpur and Vishwanath Municipality of Vishwanath Upazila of Sylhet.


EC is also conducting voting in three upazilas – Karnaphuli of Chattogram, Jagannathpur of Sunamganj and Osmaninagar of Sylhet. Besides, by-election polling is being held for the post of Chairman of Netrakona Sadar, Roumari and Chilmari of Kurigram and Khoksa Upazila of Kushtia.


The by-election to Khoksa Upazila Parishad of Kushtia started amid clashes between supporters of the rival candidates.


As soon as the voting started at 8:00 am, the fight broke out at Kadirpur Government Primary School voting centre between supporters of the Awami League-backed candidate Babul Akhter and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD) leader Motahar Hossain Khokon.


The EC is taking votes in many Union Parishads (UP). The UPs are Baratara and Tulsi Ganga in Khototal Upazila of Joypurhat; Ziarthi and Kanchanpur of Kushtia Sadar, Chithlia and Dhubail of Mirpur; Adra and Phulmocha of Melandah in Jamalpur Upazila; Raipara, Mahmudpur and Sutarpara of Dohar Upazila of Dhaka; Perli and Panchgram of Kalia Upazila of Narail; West Jaflong, Goainghat, East Jaflong and Madhya Jaflong of Goainghat Upazila of Sylhet; Kharera of Kasba upazila of Brahmanbaria and Durlabpur of Shibganj upazila of Chapainawabganj.


The other unions are – Borobari of Lalmonirhat Sadar, Ashikpur of Shajahanpur in Bogra, Arabpur of Jessore Sadar,Rakhalgachi of Bagherhat Sadar and Udaipur of Mollarhat, Barakpur of Dighaliya Upazila of Khulna, Amragachia of Mirzaganj in Patuakhali, Nagda Shimla of Gopalpur in Tangail, Naikpur in Madan of Netrakona, Sutalri in Harirampur in Manikganj, Mohichail in Chandina upazila of Comilla and Hossaindi of Ghazaria Upazilla in Munshiganj.


The EC is conducting by-elections for a total of 60 member posts under 58 Union Parishads in 52 upazilas of 36 districts.


Source: United News of Bangladesh