Dhaka Premier League: Super League begins on April 18

The Super League stage of the Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League is set to begin on April 18, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) confirmed on Saturday.

A total of six clubs— Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club, Legends of Rupganj, Abahani Limited, Prime Bank Cricket Club, Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club and Gazi Group Crickters— will participate in this phase of the Dhaka League.

Mohammedan Sporting Club who had roped in some big names of Bangladesh cricket has failed to qualify for the Super League. Two of their players— Mushfiqur Rahim and Mehidy Hasan Miraz— will play the Super League for Sheikh Jamal.

Mohammedan ended up as the seventh team with only 10 points from five wins in 10 matches.

Each of the five rounds of the Super League will have a reserve day.

In the first round matches, Sheikh Jamal will take on Gazi Group, Legends of Rupganj will play against Rupganj Tigers, and Abahani will take on Prime Bank Cricket Club.

City Club, Brothers Union and Khelaghar Samaj Kalyan Samity will take part in the Relegation phase of the league. The two teams who will end up being at the bottom will be relegated from the event, they won’t be able to participate in the next season of the league directly.

Sheikh Jamal ended up the league phase of this season of Dhaka League as the best team with 18 points from nine wins in 10 matches while Abahani became number two in the points table with 14 from seven wins in 10 matches.

Veteran batter Naeem Islam scored the highest runs of this season so far— 749 from 10 matches with two centuries and five fifties. He is representing Legends of Rupganj. Prime Bank’s Anamul Haque Bijoy also hit two centuries and five fifties and scored 728 runs in this season of the league.

Parvez Rasool of India who has been playing for Sheikh Jamal has scalped 20 wickets so far in 10 matches while Rakibul Hasan of Prime Bank is right after him with 19 wickets in 10 matches.

Source: United News of Bangladesh