BPL Football: Holders Bashundhara Kings make good start in 2nd phase beating Swadhinata KS 2-0

Defending champions Bashundhara Kings made a good start in the 2nd phase of the Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) Football ‘2022 beating newcomers Swadhinata KS by 2-0 goals in one of the two opening day’s match at the Muktijoddha Smriti Stadium in Rajshahi Sunday afternoon. .

With the day’s feat, last two times champions and star studded Bashundhara Kings not only took revenge of their 1-2 goals defeat against bottom-ranked Swadhinata KS in the league opener in last February, but also brightened their position to clinch the league crown for the 3rd time in a row.

Bashundhara Kings, which dominated the league comfortably after the eleven-match first phase, today (Sunday) further consolidated their position in the league table securing 29 points from 12 matches.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club followed them distantly with 24 points from 12 encounters while six time champions Dhaka Abahani Limited were in the 3rd slot collecting 22 points from eleven matches, playing one match less than the Kings and Sheikh Jamal DC.

In the day’s match, newly recruited Brazilian midfielder Miguel Ferreira came to the lime light in his very first match scoring both the goals for the Kings in the 28th and 37th minutes respectively..

In the day’s other match, Sheikh Jamal DC advanced to the 2nd slot in the league table toppling Dhaka Abahani beating Uttar Baridhara Club also by 2-0 goals at the Sheikh Fazlul Haque Moni Stadium in Gopalganj Sunday afternoon.

Nigerian forward Chijioke Alaekwe put Sheikh Jamal ahead in the very 2nd minute (1-0) while another Nigerian striker Musa Najere doubled the winners margin in the 21st minute (2-0).

Four matches will be held on Monday in Dhaka and other regional venues.

Six times champions Dhaka Abahani Limited will meet Muktijoddha Sangsad KC in Gopalganj while Saif SC will face Bangladesh Police FC in Rajshahi, both will kick-off at 3:30 pm.

In Monday’s other matches, Chittagong Abahani will play Rahmatganj MFS at Sylhet District Stadium while Dhaka Mohammedan SC will encounter Sheikh Russel KC at Bashundhara Sports Complex in Dhaka, both will kick-off at 3:30 pm.

Source: United News of Bangladesh