BPL 2023: Dhaka beat Barishal to stay alive


Dhaka Dominators beat Fortune Barishal by five wickets in the ongoing Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) on Tuesday in Sylhet.

It was only the third win of Dhaka in the event in 10 matches, that kept their hopes of qualifying to the next round alive. In contrast, it was only the third defeat of Shakib Al Hasan-led Barishal.

Barishal batted first after winning the toss. Anamul Haque was the top scorer for Fortune Barishal, scoring 42 runs off 35 balls with 5 boundaries and 1 six. Saif Hassan provided a steady start to the innings with 15 runs off 19 balls before being dismissed by Amir Hamza.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan's stay at the crease was short-lived as he was dismissed for just 5 runs. Ibrahim Zadran and Iftikhar Ahmed were dismissed cheaply with just 2 and 10 runs, respectively.

BPL 2023: Sylhet Strikers overpower Khulna Tigers to ensure playoff berth

Mahmudullah played a crucial role in the middle order scoring 39 runs off 27 balls with 4 boundaries and 2 sixes. Salman Hossain and Karim Janat made 14 and 17 runs respectively before being dismissed. Fortune Barishal finished their innings with a score of 156/8 in 20 overs.

For Dhaka, Amir Hamza bagged two wickets.

Dhaka Dominators started their chase positively with Soumya Sarkar scoring 37 runs off 22 balls with 4 boundaries and 2 sixes. Wicket-keeper Mohammad Mithun was the top scorer for Dhaka Dominators with 54 runs off 36 balls, hitting 6 boundaries and 3 sixes. Abdullah Al Mamun contributed with 26 runs before being dismissed.

Nasir Hossain and Usman Ghani finished the game for Dhaka Dominators scoring 20 and 2 runs respectively. Dhaka Dominators won the game by 5 wickets with 3 balls to spare.

Shakib and Sunzamul Islam took two wickets for Barishal, but they could not stop Dhaka from winning this match.

Source: United News of Bangladesh