Bangabandhu Cup Int’l Kabaddi’s 3rd edition begins tomorrow


The third edition of prestigious Bangabandhu Cup

International Kabaddi tournament begins from tomorrow (Monday) at national

volleyball stadium in the city.

Twelve teams across the globe, England and Poland from Europe, Kenya from

Africa, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Chinese Taipei from Association of

Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), Sri Lanka, Nepal and Bangladesh from South

Asia and Iraq from Middle East will compete in the eight-day meet.

Mentionable, the first edition was held in 2021 with the participation of

five teams while eight teams participated in the second edition held in 2022.

In this regards, a press conference and the trophy unveiling ceremony was

held today (Sunday) at the National Kabaddi Stadium in the city.

Habibur Rahman, general secretary of Bangladesh Kabaddi Federation and the

Additional Inspector General of Bangladesh Police, presented the meet to the


Joint Secretary of the federation and Additional Deputy Inspector General

(DIG) of Bangladesh Police Kazi Mozammel Huq and Technical Director of the

tournament E. Prasad Rao were also present on the occasion.

Captains of the participating 12 teams also graced the trophy unveiling


Habibur Rahman said Bangabandhu Cup International Kabaddi is one of the

biggest kabaddi tournaments in the international arena and they are all

focused to go ahead establishing Bangladesh as a true force both on and off

the field.

Bangladesh became the champion in the last two editions of Bangabandhu Cup

International Kabaddi and Habibur Rahman again expressed his high hope of

winning the championship title for the third consecutive times.

He said the team's preparation is quite good enough only aim to win the


Tuhin Tarafder, the skipper of Bangladesh Kabaddi Team, also expressed his

high optimism about retaining the trophy.

"We have worked hard for the last couple of weeks and the team is stronger

than the last editions one," the Captain said, adding that they have been

going through rigorous training sessions under foreign coaches and upbeat to

retain the title.


Group A- Bangladesh, Iraq, Nepal, England, Argentina and Poland

Group B- Kenya, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand and Chinese Taipei.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)