6 by-elections: Mahi fails to get nod, as AL brings in alliance partners


Awami League on Sunday announced its candidates for the by-elections to six parliamentary seats, left vacant after the resignation of BNP lawmakers.


The party nominated Ragebul Hasan Ripu in Bogura-6, Ziaur Rahman in Chapainawabganj-2 and Abdul Wadud in Chapainawabganj-3 while Awami league shared the seat of Thakurgaon-3 with Workers Party and Bogura-4 with Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal ( Inu). The party allowed anyone to compete in Brahmanbaria-2 constituency.


The decision was made at a meeting of Awami League Parliamentary Nomination Board held at 4:00pm today at the prime minister’s official residence Gono Bhaban in the capital.


The Awami League started distributing nomination forms from December 28 to December 31 for the party’s nomination in elections to six parliamentary seats, left vacant after the resignation of BNP lawmakers.


By-polls to the six parliamentary seats will be held on February 1.


The aspirants, including actress Mahiya Mahi, collected and submitted the forms from Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina’s Dhanmondi political office from 10.30am to 4.30pm on December 28-31.


The Election Commission (EC) announced the schedule of the by-elections on December 18.


The EC will conduct the by-polls to parliamentary seats — Thakurgaon-3, Bogura-4, Bogura-6, Chapainawabganj 2, Chapainawabganj-3 and Brahmanbaria-2.


The EC secretary said candidates can submit their nomination papers till January 5. Returning officers will scrutinise the nomination papers on January 8 and January 15 has been set as the last date for withdrawal of candidature.


Source: United News of Bangladesh