Women’s Chess: Sharmin Sultana Shirin of Ansar emerges champion

WIM Sharmin Sultana Shirin of Bangladesh Ansar emerged champion and WFM Noshin Anjum became runner-up in the Begum Laila Alam 12th FIDE Rating Women’s Chess Tournament that concluded at Bangladesh Chess Federation Hall-Room on Wednesday.

After the day’s 7th and last round matches, both the WIM Sharmin and WFM Noshin earned six points each and In the tie-breaking system WIM Shirin clinched the title and WFM Noshin finished runner-up.

WIM Rani Hamid of Bangladesh Ansar became 3rd with 5.5 points. Five players earned 5 points each.

In tie-breaking system, Nusrat Jahan Alo of Bangladesh Police became 4th, Wadifa Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy became 5th, WFM Zakia Sultana of Agrani Bank Daba Dal became 6th, Israt Jahan Alo of Bangladesh Police became 7th and Neelava Choudhury of Rupali Bank Krira Parisad finished 8th.

WFM Nazrana Khan Eva of Bangladesh Police became 9th and Warsia Khusbu of Basir Memorial Chess Club became 10th securing 4.5 points each.

The best Under-10 player prize goes to Arisha Hossain Tuba, who bagged 4 points while Warsia Haider Sarah got best unrated player prize, also collecting 4 points.

In the day’s 7th and last round games, WIM Sharmin drew with Nusrat Jahan Alo, WFM Noshin beat WIM Rani Hamid, Israt Jahan Diba beat Omnia Binta Yusuf Lubaba. ,Wadifa Ahmed beat Essaba Masnun, WFM Zakia Sultana beat Nusrat Jahan Liza, Neelava Choudhury beat Tasnia Tarannum Orpa, WFM Nazran Khan Eva beat Afrin Jahan Munia, Kazi Zarin Tasmin beat Sumi Akter and Warsia Khusbu beat Tabassum Sadia Shahjahan. WFM Noshin Anjum beat WFM Nazrana Khan Eva, Nusrat Jahan Alo beat Kazi Zarin Tasnil, Israt Jahan Diba drew with Nusrat Jahan Liza, Tasnia Tarannum Orpa beat Jarin Tasnim, Omnia Binta Yusuf Lubaba beat Tabassum Sadia Shahjahan.

The prize distribution ceremony of the tournament was held after day’s matches Begum Laila Alam was present as the chief guest and distributed prizes among the winners.

Syed Shahab Uddin Shamim, general secretary of Bangladesh Chess Federation and President of World Chess Federation Zone-3.2 and International Women’s Master Rani Hamid, among others, were also present.

A total of 48 players participated in the 7 round Swiss-League basis competition.

Source: United News of Bangladesh