US-UK-Japan trio win chemistry Nobel for lithium-ion battery

TOCKHOLM Three researchers won the Nobel

Chemistry Prize on Wednesday for the development of lithium-ion batteries,

paving the way for smartphones and a fossil fuel-free society.

John Goodenough of the United States � at 97 the oldest person to be

awarded a Nobel prize � Britain's Stanley Whittingham, and Japan's Akira

Yoshino will share the nine million Swedish kronor (about $914,000 or 833,000

euros) prize equally, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said.

This lightweight, rechargeable and powerful battery is now used in

everything from mobile phones to laptops and electric vehicles (and) can

also store significant amounts of energy from solar and wind power, making

possible a fossil fuel-free society, the jury said.

Lithium batteries have revolutionised our lives since they first entered

the market in 1991, it said, adding they were of the greatest benefit to

humankind .

Seeking an alternative source of power during the oil crisis of the 1970s,

Whittingham discovered a way to harness the potential energy in lithium, a

metal so light it floats on water.

He constructed a battery partly made of lithium that utilised the

element's natural tendency to shed electrons, thereby transferring energy.

However the battery was too unstable to be used.

Goodenough built on Whittingham's prototype, substituting a different

metal compound and doubling the potential energy of the battery to four


This paved the way for far more powerful and durable batteries in the


In 1985, Yoshino instead used a carbon-based material that stores lithium

ions, finally rendering the battery commercially viable.

The culmination of the trio's research resulted in the most powerful,

lightweight and rechargeable battery ever seen.

When asked what type of researcher he is, Yoshino told a Tokyo press

conference that a good scientist needed two qualities.

One thing is that you have to have a flexible brain. Flexibility. The

other is tenacity. You stay persistent and never give up, he said.

Yoshino, 71, works at the Asahi Kasei Corporation in Tokyo and is a

professor at Meijo University in Nagoya, Japan, while Goodenough holds the

Cockrell Chair in Engineering at the University of Texas at Austin.

Whittingham, 77, is a professor at the Binghamton University, State

University of New York.

The trio will receive the prize from King Carl XVI Gustaf at a formal

ceremony in Stockholm on December 10, the anniversary of the 1896 death of

scientist Alfred Nobel who created the prizes in his last will and testament.

Last year, the honour went to US scientists Frances Arnold and George

Smith and British researcher Gregory Winter for developing enzymes used for

greener and safer chemistry and antibody drugs with less side effects.

Arnold was just the fifth woman to clinch chemistry's most prestigious

honour since Marie Curie was honoured in 1911.

This year's Nobel prize season kicked off on Monday with the Medicine

Prize awarded to Americans William Kaelin and Gregg Semenza, and Britain's

Peter Ratcliffe.

Peace Prize on Friday

They won for research into how human cells sense and adapt to changing

oxygen levels, opening up new strategies to fight such diseases as cancer and


On Tuesday, the Physics Prize honoured Canadian-American cosmologist James

Peebles and Swiss astronomers Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for research on

how the Universe evolved after the Big Bang, and the first discovery of a

planet outside our solar system, known as an exoplanet.

The Literature Prize will follow on Thursday, with two laureates to be

crowned after a sexual harassment scandal forced the Swedish Academy to

postpone the 2018 award, for the first time in 70 years.

Some names creating a buzz ahead of this year's literature prize are

Canadian poet Anne Carson, Kenyan writer Ngugi Wa Thiong'o, Romanian poet and

novelist Mircea Cartarescu and Polish writer and activist Olga Tokarczuk.

On Friday the action moves to Norway where the Peace Prize is awarded,

with bookies predicting a win for Swedish teen climate activist Greta

Thunberg on betting sites such as Ladbrokes.

The Economics Prize will wrap up the Nobel prize season on Monday, October


Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)