Tigers return home after World Cup failure

All members of Bangladesh cricket team except four returned home Friday afternoon after a dismal performance in the T20 World Cup.

Captain Mahmudullah Riyad, Mushfiqur Rahim, Soumya Sarkar and Ltion Das will return later.

Most of the coaching staff members will join the team later when the team will start preparation for the Pakistan series on November 12.

Bangladesh won two matches in Round 1 of the World Cup and qualified for the Super 12s. But they failed to win any of five matches they played in the Super 12s stage. They got close against Sri Lanka and West Indies but failed to seal the matches.

The Tigers were heavily reliant on their experienced players like Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur and Shakib Al Hasan.

All of them have a dismal show in the World Cup. The players like Soumya Sarkar, Liton and Mustafizur Rahman also failed to click in this World Cup which will be remembered as a cricketing catastrophe to Bangladeshi fans.

With the scars of World Cup failure fresh, the Tigers will take on Pakistan in a three-match T20Is and two-match Test series at home starting from November 19.

While the first match of the T20 series will take place on November 19 at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, the other matches will be played on November 20 and 22. The first Test will be played in Chattogram from November 26 while the second Test will be played from December 4 in Dhaka.

Source: United News of Bangladesh