Tigers opt to bowl first against West Indies

DHAKA, Bangladesh captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza won the toss and opted to bowl first against West Indies in their fifth game of this World Cup at the Cooper Associates County Ground in Taunton on Monday.

Both the team made one change to the side from their previous match. Bangladesh brought up Liton Das in the place of ourofform Mohammad Mithun while Darren Bravo replaced Carlos Brathwaite in West Indies team.

Both Bangladesh and West Indies have three points under the belt in four matches after winning one, losing two and a washedout game. Hence the game turned out to be a mustwin match for both of them in a bid to stay alive in the semifinal race.

They met each other in ODI cricket for 37 times, amongst which West Indies won 21 and Bangladesh 14, while two other matches were rained out. In World Cup, They took on each other four times and West Indies won three matches and the other match was washed out.

Bangladesh however held the edge, winning seven out of nine matches against West Indies in the last one year, including three straight victories in the recently concluded triseries in Ireland.

The Tigers lifted their maiden major trophy in tournament involving three or more team, beating West Indies by five wickets in the raininterrupted final in triseries.

Therefore it's the match where Bangladesh have come up as absolute favourites even though

Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Liton Das, Mhamudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain Saikat, Mehidy Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Mustafizur Rahman.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope (wicketkeeper), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmeyer, Jason Holder (captain), Andre Russell, Darren Bravo, Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas.

Umpires: Rod Tucker, Australia; Sundaram Ravi (India).

TV Umpire: Paul Wilson, Australia.

Match Referee: David Boon, Australia.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)