Taskin, Abu Jayed overshadow Mustafizur’s five-for

Mustafizur Rahman’s second five-for in T20s went in vain as his team Prime Bank Cricket Club lost by 27 runs to Mohammedan Sporting Club in the ongoing Bangabandhu Dhaka Premier Division Twenty20 Cricket League on Saturday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.

Superb efforts of Mustafizur during the death overs helped Prime Bank restrict Mohammedan for 150 for eight.

But in reply, Prime Bank tumbled for 123 all wickets in 19.3 overs with Abu Jayed and Taskin Ahmed bagging three wickets each for Mohammedan.

Mohammedan won the toss and opted to bat first. They had a decent start riding on the bat of Parvez Hossain Emon who stuck a 37-ball fifty with three fours and four sixes.

Also read: Mushfiqur, Naim guide Abahani to easy win

When Emon was removed, Mohammedan were batting at 98 for two in 13.1 overs. They had a great chance to post a bigger total. But in the last five overs, Mohammedan lost five wickets just for 35 runs.

Mustafizur ended up taking five wickets for 22 runs, which is jointly his best bowling figures in T20 cricket. He previously bagged five wickets against New Zealand in T20 World Cup in 2016.

In reply, Prime Bank kept losing wickets on a regular basis. Anamul Haque Bijoy, the captain of Prime Bank, failed to do well for the third time in the league. Scoring five in the two previous games, he posted only three this time.

Mohammad Mithun was the highest run-getter for Prime Bank scoring 25 while Tamim Iqbal scored 20. The other batsmen including Rony Talukdar, Alok Kapali, Nahidul Islam and Raqibul Hasan failed to impress.

Also read: Shahadat returns to competitive cricket as BCB accepts his appeal

For Mohammedan, Taskin and Abu Jayed bagged three wickets each conceding 15 and 33 runs respectively.

With this match, the first three rounds of the league ended. Abahani is leading the points table with six points from three wins while Mohammedan also secured six points from as many matches. However, Abahani are slightly ahead of Mohammedan for their better run rate.

The next four teams in the table, in order, are Prime Doleshwar Sporting Club, Prime Bank Cricket Club, Brothers Union and Old DOHS Sports Club.

Source: United News of Bangladesh