Tamim XI register first win in BCB President’s Cup

Despite a hard-fought ton by Mushfiqur Rahim, Tamim XI registered their first win beating Najmul XI by 42 runs in the BCB President’s Cup on Thursday at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium.


Shoriful Islam and Mustafizur Rahman bowled tremendously for Najmul XI taking four and three wickets respectively.


Replying to Tamim XI’s 221, Najmul XI tumbled for 179 runs for all wickets in 45.4 overs and lost the game by 42 runs. It was their first defeat in two games. In the first game, they beat Mahmudullah XI by four wickets.


Najmul XI lost three wickets for just in 30 runs. Mustafizur Rahman scalped two of these three wickets. Najmul XI never recovered from this early damage.


Mushfiqur came to bat at four, and before falling prey to Mustafizur in the 45th over, he posted a superb 103 runs off 109 balls with nine fours and one six. Apart from Msuhfqiur, Afif Hossain (15) and Irfaan Shukkur (24) were the two other batsmen to have reached two-digit scores.


Eventually, Najmul XI tumbled for 179 for all wickets in 45.4 overs.


Earlier, Najmul Hossain Shanto, the captain of Najmul XI, won the toss and sent Tamim XI to bat first. They posted a moderate total of 221 runs for nine wickets in 50 overs riding on 82 of Mahahdi Hasan.


Tanzid Hasan Tamim, who came to the limelight for his U-19 performance, struck two wonderful fours at the start of the innings. But he fell prey to Al Amin Hossain scoring eight off five balls.


Anamul Haque Bijoy joined Tamim in the wicket and fell for 12 off 13 balls. He also hit two fours and was looking comfortable in the middle. Anamul fell as Soumya Sarkar took a brilliant catch at the slip cordon.


After the removal of Anamul, it was Mohammad Mithun who failed again as he scored only four this time. Nayeem Hasan, the off-spinner, sent Mithun back to the dressing room as his first wicket in the match.


The onus was on Tamim to guide his team to a challenging total, but after adding five runs following Mithun’s dismissal, he got caught by Rishad Hossain while playing Nayeem. Tamim fell for 33, his best in two games.


Shahadat Hossain Dipu, who hit a fifty in the knock-out stage of the last ICC U-19 World Cup to help the Young Tigers book a place in the next round, scored 31 before being hunted by Rishad.


Mosaddek Hossain, Akbar Ali and Mohammad Saifuddin scored 12, 2 and 3 respectively. Tamim XI lost eight wickets just in 125, which was indicating to another poor batting show. But Taijul Islam and Mahadi Hassan added 95 runs in the ninth-wicket stand.


Mahadi fell for 82 off 57 balls with nine fours and three sixes. He tried to scoop Mukidul Islam Mugdho but failed to time the ball correctly. Taijul remained unbeaten for 20 off 43 balls.


Al Amin Hossain continued bowling well as he bagged three wickets conceding 43 runs in 10 overs while Taskin Ahmed and Mukidul Islam took one wicket each. Nayeem and Rishad took two wickets each conceding 28 and 21 respectively in 10 and five overs.


In their first game, Najmul XI beat Mahmudullah XI by four wickets while Tamim XI lost to Mahmudullah XI by five wickets in their first game.


Brief score:


Tamim XI: 221/9 in 50 overs, Mahadi 82, Tamim 33, Shahadat 31, Al Amin 3/43, Rishad 2/21, Nayeem 2/28


Najmul XI: 179/10 in 45.4 overs, Mushfiqur 103, Irfaan 24, Afif 15; Sharif 4/34, Mustafizur 3/15, Saifuddin 2/42


BCB President’s Cup fixture:


Oct 11: Mahmudullah XI vs Najmul XI (Najmul XI won by four wickets)


Oct 13: Mahmudullah XI vs Tamim XI (Mahmudullah XI won by five wickets)


Oct 15: Tamim XI vs Najmul XI (Tamim XI won by 42 runs)


Oct 16: Mahmudullah vs Najmul XI


Oct 19: Mahmudullah vs Tamim XI


Oct 21: Tamim XI vs Najmul XI


Oct 23: the final


Source: United News of Bangladesh