T20 World Cup 2022: Bangladesh opt to bowl first vs India

Bangladesh won the toss and opted to bowl first against India in their fourth match in the Super 12 stage of the ongoing T20 World Cup 2022 in Adelaide. This is the first time Bangladesh are playing a T20I match in Adelaide.


Bangladesh made one change to their playing XI, bringing in Shoriful Islam to replace Soumya Sarkar. Soumya, the left-handed opener, played all three matches before today but failed to prove his mettle. He got off to a good start, but he couldn’t capitalize on those starts. Shoriful, the left-arm seamer, has played 28 T20Is and bagged 32 wickets so far.


Bangladesh won their first match against the Netherlands but lost to South Africa before registering a win against Zimbabwe. On the other hand, India lost to South Africa in their last fixture before taking on Bangladesh today.


Before this match, Bangladesh and India took on each other in 11 T20Is, with Bangladesh winning only one of those matches.


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton Das, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali, Mosaddek Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Nurul Hasan(w), Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Taskin Ahmed


India (Playing XI): KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma (c), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik(w), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh.


The team that bats first in Adelaide usually performs better than the one that is chasing. Therefore, it would be interesting to see whether Bangladesh captain Shakib succeeds in his choice to field first against India in the T20 World Cup 2022 Super 12 Round.


Source: United News of Bangladesh