Medical &Health

Six to die for killing Shariatpur AL leader Habibur Rahman

A court here today sentenced six persons to death and four others to life in prison for killing local Awami League leader Habibur Rahman and his brother Monir Hossain in Shariatpur around 20 years ago.

The convicted were Shahid Talukdar, Shahin Kotwal, Shahid Kotwal, Shafi Kotwal, Solaman Sardar and Mojibar Rahman Talukdar. The court also fined them Taka 10,000 each.

Judge Md Showkat Hossain of the Additional District and Sessions Judge’s Court in Shariatpur handed down the sentence. All 39 accused were present at the court.

The court also sentenced Sarowar Hossain Babul Talukdar, Babul Khan, Dablu Talukdar and Tokai Rashid to life term imprisonment and fined Taka 10,000 each, in default of which they will be sentenced six months more in jail.

Three other accused — Montu Talukdar, Aslam Sardar and Jakir Hossain Mojnu — were sentenced to a two-year imprisonment for committing the crimes.

The court acquitted 39 others accused from the charges as they were found not guilty in the case.

The court also issued conviction warrants and arrest warrants against Shahid Talukdar, Shahin Kotwal, Sarowar Hossain Babul Talukdar, Tokai Rashid and Jakir Hossain Mojnu, who are on the run.

The punishment of the fugitives will be effective from the day of their arrest or surrender, the judgment said.

Earlier, the court recorded statements of 28 out of 47 prosecution witnesses in the case.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)