Sheikh Jamal, Legends of Rupganj in Pole Position to Win DPL 2022

Among the six teams in the Super League, Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club and Legends of Rupganj have a good chance of winning the 2022 Dhaka Premier Division Cricket League. These two sides, along with Prime Bank Limited, won their respective Super League openers. Dhanmondi’s Sheikh Jamal is currently leading the points table with 20 points, followed by Rupganj with 16 points. With four more Super League matches to go, it’s more likely that these two clubs will decide the DPL 2022 winner.

Which Club Has the Best Chance to Win the Dhaka Premier League 2022?

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi or Legends of Rupganj are the favourites to win the DPL 2022, according to current standings. Let’s take a look at the Super League’s scenarios for each team.

Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club

Sheikh Jamal team is on fire in this season’s Dhaka Premier League. They have only lost one game out of eleven. They hold a four-point lead over second-placed Rupganj and may win the title in the next two games if other teams slip up in the standings. Saif Hasan has led the team with 435 runs, while Parvez Rasool has 23 wickets. So far, Parvez has taken the most wickets in the competition.

Remaining fixtures

Rupganj Tigers (April 21)

Prime Bank (April 24)

Abahani (April 26)

Legends of Rupganj (April 28)

Legends of Rupganj

If Rupganj is to win the title, they must win their remaining games. They will also be hoping that Sheikh Jamal loses points in the remaining games. Rupganj now has 16 points on the board after eight victories. They have lost three games this season. Naeem Islam has led the team with 782 runs, while CS Jani has the most wickets (18) for Rupganj.

Remaining fixtures

Prime Bank (April 21)

Abahani (April 24)

Gazi Group Cricketers (April 26)

Sheikh Jamal (April 28)

Prime Bank Cricket Club and Abahani Ltd

Both Prime Bank and Abahani Ltd are six points behind league leader Sheikh Jamal, thus winning the title would be incredibly difficult. Both Abahani and Prime Bank have 14 points after 11 games, and to win the DPL 2022, they will have to rely on the outcomes of the other sides’ games.

Anamul Haque has been a standout performer for Prime Bank this season. The right-handed top-order batter has scored 805 runs in 11 innings. Rakibul Hasan has been Prime Bank’s most successful bowler with 22 wickets. On the other side, Mosaddek Hossain is Abahani’s most successful batter with 542 runs, while Tanzim Hasan Sakib has the most wickets (16).

Remaining fixtures (Prime Bank)

Legends of Rupganj (April 21)

Sheikh Jamal (April 24)

Rupganj Tigers (April 26)

Gazi Group Cricketers (April 28)


Remaining fixtures (Abahani)

Gazi Group Cricketers (April 21)

Legends of Rupganj (April 24)

Sheikh Jamal (April 26)

Rupganj Tigers (April 28)

Rupganj Tigers Cricket Club and Gazi Group Cricketers

The Rupganj Tigers and the Gazi Group are both out of contention for the title. They are now competing to improve their point standings. The Tigers is in fifth place in the Super League, while Gazi is in sixth. The Rupganj Tigers’ top batter is Zakir Hasan this season. He has a total of 503 runs. On the other hand, Mehedi Maruf has the most runs (447) for the Gazi team. Qazi Onik (17 wickets) has taken the most wickets for Gazi, while Mukidul Islam (17 wickets) has taken the most for Rupganj Tigers.

Remaining fixtures (Rupganj Tigers)

Sheikh Jamal (April 21)

Gazi Group Cricketers (April 24)

Prime Bank (April 26)

Abahani Ltd (April 28)

Remaining fixtures (Gazi Group)

Abahani (April 21)

Rupganj Tigers (April 24)

Legends of Rupganj (April 26)

Prime Bank (April 28)


With Sheikh Jamal’s current form, it’s highly unlikely that any other team will win the championship this year. The Legends of Rupganj club is also in the hunt for the championship. However, Sheikh Jamal must drop points in their next three games if Rupganj is to win the championship. If that happens, the match between Sheikh Jamal and the Legend of Rupganj on Thursday, April 28 (Thursday) would be the DPL 2022 title decider.

Source: United News of Bangladesh