Shafiq, Farida elected president, secretary of Jatiya Press Club

DHAKA, Jan 1, 2017 (BSS) - Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman and Farida Yasmin were elected president and general secretary respectively of the Jatiya Press Club (JPC) managing committee for the next two years.

Chairman of the JPC election commission Mustafa Jabbar declared the results after counting the election held yesterday.

A total of 1089 voters out of 1218 cast their votes from 9 am to 5 pm on the JPC premises.

Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman bagged 672 votes while his rival M A Aziz bagged 279 votes.

In the post of general secretary, Farida Yeasmin got 439 votes against his nearest rival Kader Ghani Chowdhury bagging 350 votes.

Other members of the managing committee are: Saiful Alam 807 (senior vice-president), Azizul Islam Bhuiyan 570 (vice-president), Shahed Chowdhury 627 (joint secretary) and Ilias Khan 452 (joint secretary) and Kartik Chakraborty 578 (treasurer).

The elected 10 managing committee members are- Shyamal Dutta 574, Quddus Afrad 535, Mainul Alam 511, Rezwanul Haque Raja 488, Mollah Jalal 459, Shamsuddin Ahmed Charu 452, Hasan Hafiz 423, Shahnuz Begum 399, Kollayan Shaha 378 and Hasan Arefin 360.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)