Search committee holds 3rd meeting, decides to sit again Monday

DHAKA, Feb 3, 2017 (BSS)- The search committee formed by President Abdul Hamid yesterday held a meeting to discuss names to recommend for reconstituting the Election Commission (EC).

The six-member body held its third meeting at the Supreme Court Judges' Lounge in the city in the afternoon and decided to sit again on Monday.

All members of the committee led by Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain of the Appellate Division attended the meeting.

Other members of the search committee are Justice Obaidul Hassan of the High Court Division, Public Service Commission (PSC) Chairman Mohammad Sadiq, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) Masud Ahmed, Dhaka University English Department Professor Syed Manzurul Islam and Chittagong University Pro-Vice Chancellor Prof Shirin Akhter.

After the meeting, Cabinet Division Additional Secretary Abdul Wadud Bhuiyan told journalists that the search committee today discussed the backgrounds of 20 shortlisted persons and the opinions given by eminent citizens on formation of the EC.

The committee will recommend 10 names to President Hamid by February 8. The president will appoint the chief and four election commissioners among the 10 names.

The committee earlier shortlisted 20 names from over 100 names proposed by 27 political parties and held view-exchange meetings with 18 eminent citizens in two phases on Tuesday and Wednesday.

If needed, the search committee may include names beyond those proposed by the political parties in its recommendation to the President.

The President formed the search committee on January 25 to form reconstitute the EC as the tenure of the most of current commission members will expire by the middle of February.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)