Government Policy

Rangpur city election on December 27

The election to Rangpur City Corporation will be held on December 27.


The election schedule was finalised at a meeting of the Election Commission (EC) with Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal in the chair at the Election Commission Secretariat on Thursday.


EC Secretary Md Jahangir Alam announced the schedule after the meeting.


He said the Commission has also decided to use electronic voting machines (EVMs) and CCTV cameras in the election.


The balloting will start at 8.30 am and continue till 4.30 pm without any break.


The election to the city corporation was held on December 21, 2017. The first meeting was held on February 19, 2017. The tenure will end after five years of the first meeting.


The meeting also held an elaborate discussion on different local government elections and by-elections in vacant posts.


It also decided to hold elections to five municipalities and a number of union parishads on December 29.


The five municipalities are—Bagha, Rajshahi, Birol, Dinajpur, Boda, Panchagarh, Alfadanga, Faridpur and Banpara, Natore.


Source: United News of Bangladesh