Pro-Awami League panel sweeps JUTA election

Pro-Awami League (AL) Bangabandhu Panel teachers gained a landslide victory in the Jahangirnagar University Teachers' Association (DUTA) election Wednesday.

The voting was held at the university teachers' club from 9am to 1pm. The results were announced in the evening.

The pro-AL panel bagged 11 posts of the 15-member executive committee with Professor Farid of the physics department elected as president and Professor M Shamim Kaiser of the Institute of Information and Technology as general secretary.

Also, from the panel, Sabbir Alam of mathematics, Ahemd Reza of English, Nazmul Hasan of Bangla, Mohammad Tariqul Islam of government and politics, Mahfuza Khatun of finance and banking, Md Mizanur Rahman of geography and environment, Suborno Karmakar of chemistry, Mohammad Shafi-Ur-Rahman of urban and regional planning and Farha Matin Julia of biochemistry and molecular biology, departments were elected members.

Pro-AL Blue Panel sweeps DUTA polls

Monowar Hossain of the zoology department and Professor Mohammad Shafiqul of the economics department were elected as vice-president and treasurer, respectively, from the BNP-backed Sammilito Shikkhak Samaj.

Also, from the panel, Borhan Uddin of the biochemistry and molecular biology department and Mohammad Rezaul Rakib of the geography and environment department were elected joint secretary and executive committee member.

Source: United News of Bangladesh