Pro-AL blue panel sweeps DUTA polls

The pro-Awami League blue panel swept in the Dhaka University Teachers Association (DUTA) election as it bagged all 15 executive committee posts.

Professor ASM Maksud Kamal of Disaster Science and Management Department was elected president bagging 890 votes while Professor Md Rahmat Ullah of Law Department was elected general secretary securing 732 votes.

Maksud Kamal served as general secretary while Rahmat Ullah as an executive member in the immediate past committee.

BNP backed "white panel" and left-leaning "pink panel" could not manage to get any post.

DUTA Election Commissioner Professor Tofail Ahmed Chowdhury of Chemistry Department announced the results this afternoon at the university's teachers club. The voting was held between 10am to 2pm on the premises of the club today.

Shibli Rubayat-ul Islam of Banking and Insurance Department was elected vice-president, AJM Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan of Television and Film Studies Department as joint secretary and Abdus Samad, chairman of Applied Mathematics department, as treasurer.

The elected executive committee members are Prof Farid Uddin Ahmed of Economics Department, Prof SM Abdur Rahman of Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology Department, Prof Tajin Aziz Chowdhury of English Department, Prof Biman Chandra Barua of Pali and Buddhist Studies, Prof Mahbubu Nasreen of Institute of Disaster Management and Vulnerability Studies, Prof Md Aftab Ali Sheikh of Institute of Leather Engineering and Technology, Prof Imdadul Haque of Botany Department, Prof Nizamul Haque Bhuiyan of Nutrition and and Food Science Department, Prof Md Baitullah Qaderi of Bangla Department and Latifa Jamal of Robotics and Mechatronics Engineering Department.

Some 1,502 voters out of 1950 cast their votes in the polls.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)