PM attends V-Day parade at National Parade Square

DHAKA, Dec 16, 2016 (BSS)- Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina attended the Victory Day Parade at the National Parade Square here today.

The parade was held under the auspices of 9th Infantry Division of Bangladesh Army at the directives of Ministry of Liberation War Affairs and supervision of the armed forces.

President Abdul Hamid attended the V-Day parade as the chief guest and received the salute of the parade.

Different contingents of Bangladesh Army, Navy and Air Force, Freedom Fighters' Contingent, para military forces, law enforcement and civil defense agencies and various ministries of the government participated in the parade.

Minister for Liberation War Affairs AKM Mozammel Haque, Army Chief General Abu Belal Muhammad Shafiul Huq, Navy Chief Admiral Nizamuddin Ahmed, Chief of Bangladesh Air Force Air Chief Marshal Abu Esrar were present.

General Officer Commanding (GOC) of 9th Infantry Division at Savar Major General Waker-uz-Zaman was the commander and Commanding Officer of 81 Command Brigade of 9th Infantry Division Brigadier General ATM Anisuzzaman was the Deputy Commander of the parade.

The parade displayed the continuous development of the organizations and socio-economic progress of the country.

The Prime Minister also witnessed the spectacular fly past and aerobatic display of the MIG 29 and other aircraft of army aviation, navy aviation and RAB helicopter and parachute landing by army paratroopers.

Former President HM Ershad, former army chiefs and senior military and civil officials and their spouses were present.

War veterans of India and Russia along with their spouses arrived Dhaka to join the celebration of 46th Victory Day of Bangladesh.

Ministers, PM's advisors, parliament members, chiefs of the three services, family members of the Prime Minister also attended the parade. Thousands of people from all walks of life witnessed the about two-hour spectacular parade.

The Parade Ground was tastefully decorated with the images of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, four national leaders and seven Birshreshthos.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)