Government Policy

Parliament adopts condolence motion

Parliament on Thursday unanimously adopted a condolence motion expressing profound grief at the demise of eight former lawmakers, including one former minister, two former state ministers and an opposition whip, as well as other noted personalities.


The eight former lawmakers include former minister ABM Ghulam Mostafa (who was MP from Cumilla-4), two former state ministers Shah Muhammad Abul Hussain (Barishal-4) and Jafrul Islam Chowdhury (Chattogram-15) and former opposition whip Mashiur Rahman (Jhenaidah-2).


JS adopts condolence motion at deaths of 5 ex-MPs, noted personalities


The four other ex-lawmakers are Dr SA Malek (Faridpur-1), Dr Alauddin Ahmed (Kishoreganj-1), SM Farooq (Erstwhile Bogura-9) and Shahjahan Khan (Patuakhali-3).


Besides, the House expressed deep shock at the death of a number of noted personalities including former Chinese president Jiang Zemin, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s mother Heeraben Modi, Brazilian soccer legend Edson Arantes do Nascimento Pele, Rowmari Upazila Awami League president and also an organizer of the great Liberation War Azizul Haque Sarker and Square Group founder Samson H Chowdhury’s wife Anita Chowdhury.


The Parliament also expressed profound grief at the loss of lives in different accidents at home and abroad.


Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury moved the motion in the House in the beginning of the session.


A one-minute silence was observed and a munajat offered seeking eternal peace for the departed souls. State Minister for Religious Affairs Faridul Haque Khan conducted the munajat.


Source: United News of Bangladesh