NCL opening day: Saif hits 100; Tushar gets run-out on 99

Saif Hassan struck the first ton of the 22nd Walton National Cricket League (NCL) on Monday at BKSP for Dhaka Division against Rangpur Division.

Tushar Imran of Khulna Division missed out on a century by one run and Imrul Kayes fell short of 10 runs against Sylhet Division at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium.

This is the first regular domestic cricket event after thae Covid-19 hiatus. Seven divisional teams and a team from Dhaka city are playing in this league.

Dhaka vs Rangpur

The match between Dhaka and Rangpur Division is underway at BKSP. Dhaka won the toss in the game and opted to bat first.

Within the first three overs, they lost both of their openers for a duck. But in the third wicket stand, they added 79 runs thanks to Saif and Mahidul Islam Ankon.

Saif hit the first century of the season while Mahidul fell prey to Mahmudul Hasan. He scored 127 off 233 balls with 11 fours and five sixes.

At the end of day one, Dhaka scored 297 for eight wickets in 90 overs. Alauddin Babu of Rangpur bagged four wickets for 25 runs in 13 overs while Mahmudul took two wickets.

Dhaka 1st innings

297/8 in 90 overs (Saif 127, Nadif Chowdhury 69, Mahidul 47, Arafat Sunny 8*, Sumon Islam 4*; Alauddin 4/25, Mahmudul 2/60)

Khulna vs Sylhet

Khulna and Sylhet took on each other at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium where Sylhet won the toss and chose to bowl first.

Imrul Kayes and Tushar Imran did well on day one of the game. Before falling prey to the national star Abu Jayed Rahi, Imrul scored 90 while Tushar got run-out after scoring 99.

At the end of day one, Khulna were batting at 308 for seven wickets in 83.3 overs with Nahidul Islam at 23.

For Sylhet, Abu Jayed Rahi and Ebadot Hossain bagged two wickets each while Khaled Ahmed and Enamul Haque took one wicket each.

Khulna 1st innings

308/7 in 83.3 overs (Tushar 99, Imrul 90, Robiul Islam Robi 37; Rahi 2/73, Eabadot 2/46)

Barishal vs Dhaka Metro

Barishal won the toss and opted to bat first at the Barishal Divisional Stadium against Dhaka Metro. They scored 241 in their first innings; Mohammad Ashraful hit their highest individual innings with 48. Abu Sayem Chowdhury (46),Sohag Gazi (45) did well with the bat.

For Metro, Abu Haider Rony and Rakibul Hasan bagged three wickets each while Arafat Sunny took two wickets.

In reply, Metro ended day one scoring 29 for one with Zahiduzzaman Khan and Shamsur Rahman batting at seven and 10.

Barishal 1st innings

241/10 in 76 overs (Ashraful 48, Abu Sayem 46, Sohag 45; Abu Haider 3/34, Rakibul 3/76, Sunny 2/59)

Chattogram vs Rajshahi

Chattogram won the toss and opted to bat first against the hosts at Rajshahi's Shahid Kamruzzaman Stadium. They scored 256 runs at the end of day one riding on the 50s of Shahadat Hossain Dipu (88*), Yasir Ali Chowdhury (63) and Mehedi Hasan (55).

Source: United News of Bangladesh