Mustafizur stars as Tigers blow away Ireland in Tri-Nation series

DHAKA, May 19, 2017 (BSS)- A four-wicket haul by pacer Mustafizur Rahman followed by opener Soumya Sarkar's a match-winning 87-run knock enabled Bangladesh to record an overwhelming eight-wicket victory over hosts Ireland in their crucial third ODI of the tri-nation series held on Friday in Dublin (Malahide).

Chasing a paltry winning target of 182 runs set by Ireland, Bangladesh hardly had to sweat as they comfortable reached home in 27.1 overs with eight wickets in hand.

Opener Soumya led the chase from the front as he shared 95-runs opening stand with southpaw opener Tamim Iqbal who chipped away 47 runs.

The explosive opener Soumya again paired another 76 runs partnership with one down Sabbir Rahman (35) to take Bangladesh closer to the victory.

Soumya hit 11 boundaries and two over boundaries from 68 balls while Sabbir cracked three boundaries and one over boundary during his 34 balls stay on the crease.

After the departure of Sabbir, Soumya completed the formality to remain unbeaten with Mushfiqur Rahim (3 n.o).

Kevin O' Brien and Barry Mc Carthy shared one wicket each conceding 22 and 42 runs respectively.

Bowling sensation Mustafizur Rahman was named the player of the match for his devastating bowling performance in the match.

Earlier, Mustafizur Rahman picked up four wickets as Bangladesh keep Ireland down to 181 in 46.3 overs, after they were forced to bat first by Bangladesh.

The cutter master Mustafizur threatened early inroad on Ireland innings as Ireland lost their Paul Stirling for duck in the in the third ball of second over and the host slipped 3 for 62 runs in the score board.

But another opener Ed Joyce kept his wicket intact from the other end with a patient knock of 46 runs from 73 runs that included three boundaries.

The Tigers bowlers kept taking wickets in regular intervals and did not allowed the Ireland batsmen to build any effective partnership.

Middle order batsman Niall O'Brien (30) and George Dockrell (25) and William Porterfield (22) were the other notable scorers for the host side.

Apart from Mustafizur's four wickets for 23 runs, skipper Mashrafe Bin Mortaza and Sunzamul Islam took two wickets each conceding 18 and 22 runs respectively.

Bangladesh will play their next match against New Zealand on May 24 in Dublin.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)