Government Policy

Mamun elected DJAB president, Alamgir GS

Mamunur Rashid of the Daily Observer and Alamgir Hossain of Somoyer Alo were elected president and general secretary respectively of Defence Journalists’ Association of Bangladesh (DJAB) on Tuesday for the next two years.

Mohd Jahangir Alam, Senior Staff Correspondent of UNB, was also elected vice-president of the 13-member executive committee of DJAB.

The new committee was formed at the organisation’s annual general meeting that was held at a city hotel with DJAB’s outgoing president and Daily Ittefaq city editor Abul Khair in the chair, said a press release.

Tariqul Islam Masum (Channel i) was made the joint secretary while Jamal Uddin (Bangla Tribune) finance secretary, Ahmed Ullah (the Daily Sun) organising secretary, Ismail Hossain Imu (Ajkaler Khabor), office secretary, Saif Bablu (Dainik Sangbad) publicity and publication secretary, Sajjad Mahmud Khan (Amader Shomoy) training and research secretary and Kamal Hossain Talukdar ( sports and cultural secretary.

Besides, Masud Karim (Jugantor), Miraj Mizu (ETV) and Ali Asif Shaon (Dhaka Tribune) were elected executive committee members.

Director of Inter Services Public Relations (ISPR) Lieutenant Colonel Abdullah Ibn Zayed and senior officials of the Armed Forces and ISPR were present on the occasion.