Government Policy

Major administrative reshuffle in EC, Information Ministry

The government on Thursday reshuffled some vital bureaucratic positions in Election Commission, Public Security Division of the Home Affairs Ministry and Information and Broadcasting Ministry.


The Public Administration Ministry issued separate notifications in this regard on Thursday.


Three additional secretaries have been promoted to secretary level, one secretary has been promoted to senior secretary while one senior secretary and two secretaries have been transferred.


Public Security Division’s Additional Secretary Md Jahangir Alam has been promoted to Secretary of Election Commission Secretariat. Meanwhile, present EC secretary Md Humayun Kabir Khandaker has been transferred to the Ministry of Industries.


Current Secretary of Industries Ministry Zakia Sultana has been transferred to the Information and Broadcasting Ministry. On October 16, former Information and Broadcasting Secretary Mokbul Hossain was sent into retirement in “public interest” one year before his scheduled retirement.


Besides, Md Aminul Islam Khan, senior secretary of Ministry of Primary and Mass Education has been transferred to Public Security Division.


Farid Ahammad, Chief Executive Officer (additional secretary) of Dhaka South City Corporation, has been promoted as Secretary at the Ministry of Primary and Mass Education.


Md Anisur Rahman Miah, Chairman (additional secretary) of Rajdhani Unnayan Kartripakkha (RAJUK) has been promoted as secretary at RAJUK.


Mohammad Mezbah Chowdhury, Secretary of Local Government Division, has been promoted as senior secretary of the division which will be effective from October 30.


The Public Administration Ministry has directed to make the other orders effective immediately.


Source: United News of Bangladesh