JP announces 18point election manifesto

DHAKA, Jatiya Party (JP) today announced an 18point election manifesto, including formation of provisional government, for December 30 national election.

Ruhul Amin Hawlader, Special assistant to the JP chairman Hussein Muhammad Ershad, unveiled the election manifesto at a press conference at the party chairman's Banani office here this morning.

JP Presidium Members Delwar Hossain Khan, SM Foysal Chishti and Md Shafiullah, among others, were present at the press conference.

Hawlader said, We are taking part in the election with a pledge to bring back democratic atmosphere and establish good governance in the country. The party is announcing the manifesto only for setting up a goal to ensure people's welfare through bringing a meaningful change in the democratic practices.

He said, The party will establish provincial system bringing change in existing central government structure if it voted to power in the December 30 national elections.

The country's eight divisions would be turned into eight provinces and those will be named as Uttar Banga Province, Barendra, Jahangirnagar, Jalalabad, Jahanabad, Chandra Dip, Moynamoti and Chattrala Province, Hawlader said.

The 18point pledge included formation of provisional government, reformation of election system, introduction of a fullfledged upazila system, freedom of judiciary, wellbeing of farmers, taking stern action to curb terrorism, ensuring stable prices of energy and electricity, food security and reformation of education system, expansion of health services, ensuring road safety and expansion of industrialization and boosting economic progress.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)