ISSF International Archery Championship begins on Friday

DHAKA, Jan. 24, 2017 (BSS) - The Islamic Solidarity Sports Federation (ISSF) International Archery Championship will be held on January 27-30 at Moulana Bhasani National Hockey Stadium with the participation of seventeen countries.

State Minister for Youth and Sports Dr. Biren Sikder MP is expected to inaugurate the meet as chief guest while Deputy Minister Arif Khan Joy MP will be present as special guest at the closing ceremony.

Some hundred of archers from seventeen countries will fight for the nine gold medals, orgqanised by ISSF. The budget of the championship has been estimated at Taka seventy lacs.

Islami Bank, Trust Bank, Cute, Daily Asian Age and The Blazer BD are the main sponsors of the championship.

In this regards, a press conference was held on Tuesday at conference room of Bangladesh Olympic Association to provide all details of the meet.

Bangladesh Archery Federation (BAF) vice presidents Soyeb Chowdhury and Anisur Rahman Dipu, BAF general secretary Kazi Razibuddin Ahmed Chapal, media committee's convener Hamida Begum and Islami Bank director Abdul Mabud were present on the occasion.

BAF general secretary Kazi Razibuddin Ahmed Chapal said they had arranged number of international archery events in Bangladesh but this is the first time they are going to host the championship with a record of seventeen nations in the history of country's archery.

He said they had invited India to take part in the tournament but they did not come due to their internal problem, while Sri Lankans are having visa problems, if they can solve within a day or two, then can still be part of this competition.

Chapal said among the nine gold medals at stake, they are expecting number of medals from this championship.

The participating countries are Azerbaijan, Pakistan, Iran, Uganda, Saudi Arabia, Sudan, Syria, Yemen, Mori Tania, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates, Libya, Morocco, Nepal, Bhutan, and host Bangladesh.

Bangladesh teams:

Recurve - Roman Sana, Nurul Huda, S anowar Hossain, Tamimul Islam, Beauty Roy, Shamoli Roy, Rariya Akter Shapla, and Hira Moni.

Compound: Abul Kashem, Ramkrishna, Nazmul Huda, Milon Mollah, Susmita Bonik, Bonna Akter, Bipasha Akter and Roksana Akter.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)