Int’l Rating Chess: GM Enamul Hossain Razib emerges unbeaten champion

Grand Master Enamul Hossain Razib of SAIF Sporting Club emerged unbeaten champion in the Walton International Rating Chess Tournament that concluded on Tuesday at the Bangladesh Chess Federation hallroom here.

Grand Master Ziaur Rahman of Bangladesh Police became unbeaten runner-up while FM Khandekar Aminul Islam of Bangladesh Navy finished 3rd in the meet.

After the day’s 9th and final round, three players GM Razib, GM Zia and FM Amin earned 7.5 points each.

Later, in the Cut Buchholz of tie-breaking system, GM Razib emerge champion, GM Zia became runner-up and FM Kh Amin finished 3rd.

Three other players earned 7 points each and in tie-breaking system, IM Mohammad Minhaz Uddin of Bangladesh Navy became 4th, FM Sheikh Nasir Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy finished 5th while FM Syed Mahfuzur Rahman of Janata Bank Officer Welfare Society became 6th.

Seven players earned 6.5 points each. Their positions after tie-breaking system are: 7th- FM Md Saif Uddin Lavlu of Titas Club, 8th- FM Mehdi Hasan Parag of Bangladesh Police, 9th- CM Shawket Bin Osman Shaon of Shahin Chess Club, 10th-CM Manon Reja Neer of Uttara Central Chess Club, 11th- Md. Abzid Rahman of Leonine Chess Club, 12th-Abdullah Al Raison and 13th-CM Jamal Uddin of Sultana Kamal Smirity Pathagar.

Asif Mahmud of Leonine Chess Club became 14th, IM Mohammad Fahad Rahman of Bangladesh Police became 15th, Sakline Mostafa Sajid of Sheikh Russel Chess Club became 16th, CM Mathtabuddin Ahmed of Bangladesh Navy became 17th and FM Mohammad Javed of Bangladesh Navy became 18th securing 6 points each.

Special prizes are: Best Woman player -WFM Noshin Anjum, the 2nd best woman Warsia Khusbu, best Under-16 Nusrat Jahan Alo, best Under-14 Wadifa Ahmed and best Under-12 Neelava Choudhury,

In the day’s 9th and last round matches, GM Razib drew with GM Zia, FM Kh. Amin beat FM Lavlu, FM Nasir drew with CM Neer, IM Minhaz beat Masum, FM Mahfuz beat Tutl, CM Jamal drew with CM Shaon, IM Fahad drew with Ariful, FM Parag beat Avik, CM Mahtab drew with CM Dihan, Asif drew with WFM Noshin, Abzid beat Din Mohammad, FM Javed drew with Sariatulla and Raison beat CM Sohel.

The prize distribution ceremony of the meet was held after day’s games. F M Iqbal Bin Anwar (Dawn), Senior Executive Director of Walton Hi-Tech Industries PLC was the chief guest at the function and distributed prizes among winners.

Champion GM Razib received Tk 50,000 (fifty thousand), runner-up Zia received Tk 30,000 (thirty thousand) and 3rd FM Kh Amin received Tk 20,000 (twenty thousand) as prize money in addition to Walton gift hampers.

A total Tk 2,00,000 (two lac taka) cash prize money and Walton gifts awarded to the winners.

In all, 137 players took part in the 9 round Swiss-League system meet.