Indy Cup Football: Bashundhara Kings clinch title beating Sheikh Russell KC in penalty shootout

Star studded Bashundhara Kings clinched the Independent Cup Football crown for the 3rd time beating former champions Sheikh Russell KC by 4-2 in a penalty shootout at the Shaheed Dhirendranath Dutta Stadium in Cumilla Monday afternoon.


The final match of the season’s curtain raiser soccer meet, the Bashundhara Group Independence Cup 2022 between two former champions was locked at 2-2 in the stipulated 90 minutes.


Mayor of the Cumilla City Corporation Arfanul Haque Rifat and BFF Vice President M Ataur Rahman Bhuiyan Manik witnessed the day’s final and distributed the trophies.


Rakib Hossain of Bashundhara Kings was adjudged the best player, Dorielton Gome of the same team named as the highest scorer, Kings custodian Anisur Rahman named as the best player of the final while Dhaka Abahani Limited named as the most disciplined team to receive the “Fair play trophy”


All the four goals of the final were scored in the first half.


Brazilian medio Miguel Ferreira scored first for the Kings in the very first minute of the match (1-0) while Nigerian striker Mfon Sunday Udoh leveled the margin for Sheikh Russel KC in the 12th minute (1-1).


Ivory Coast midfielder Charles Didier put Sheikh Russel KC ahead from behind in the 32nd minute (2-1) while Brazilian forward cum Kings captain Robson Robinho neutralized the margin in the 45th minute of the match (2-2).


In the day’s title deciding penalty shootout, Bashundhara Kings beat Sheikh Russel KC by 4-2 goals to win the tournament’s title after the 2019-20 and 2020-21 seasons. Dhaka Abahani Limited won the Independence title in the 2021-22 season.


Earlier, last time champions Dhaka Abahani Limited finished 3rd in the tournament beating Bangladesh Police FC by 4-2 goals in a place-deciding match at the Bir Shrestha Fl Lt Matiur Rahman Stadium in Munshiganj on Sunday.


Source: United News of Bangladesh