HC issues rule against four OCs

The High Court today issued rule against four officers' in-charge of four police stations in the capital, asking them to reply in two weeks as to why punitive actions shall not be taken against them for contempt of court.

"They failed to free the road and footpaths from illegal occupation from Zero Point to Sadarghat in the capital as directed by the High Court on 2012. That is why we brought this charge of court of contempt against them," said petitioner advocate Manjil Morshed.

The four officials are Noor-e-Alam Siddiqui of Bongshal Police Station, Ashraf Uddin of Sutrapur Police Station, Abul Hasan of Kotwali Police Station and Abu Bakar Siddiqui of Shahbagh Police Station.

A High Court division bench comprising Justice Salma Masud Chowdhury and Justice Kazi Md Ejarul Haque Akondo passed the order accepting a court of contempt case lodged against them by Human Rights and Peace for Bangladesh.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)