Gono Forum MP Mokabbir Khan takes oath

DHAKA, Gono Forum presidium member Mokabbir Khan today took oath as a member of the 11th Jatiya Sangsad (JS).

JS Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath of office to Mokabbir Khan elected from Sylhet-2 constituency at the JS Bhaban here, said an official release.

JS Senior Secretary Dr Zafar Ahmed Khan conducted the oath taking ceremony while Chief Whip Noor-E-Alam Chowdhury, Whips Iqbalur Rahim, Mahbub Ara Begum Gini and Abu Sayeed Al Mahmud Swapan, among others, were present at the function.

Another MP of the Gono Forum Sultan Monsur, former vice-president of Dhaka University Central Students' Union (DUCSU), also took oath on March 7. He was elected from Moulvibazar-2 constituency.

Opposition alliance the Jatiya Oikya Front, comprising mainly the Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and the Gono Forum, secured just eight seats in the 11th parliamentary polls held on December 30 last year. BNP bagged six seats while Gono Forum two in the elections.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)