Electioneering begins with symbol allocation in Rangpur-3 by-poll

Most of the contesting six candidates started electioneering after getting allocation of respective symbols today from the Returning Officer for by-election in Rangpur-3 parliamentary election.

Rangpur Regional Election Officer and Returning Officer for by-poll in Rangpur-3 seat GM Sahatab Uddin allocated the symbols among the six candidates at his conference room this afternoon.

The Returning Officer allocated symbol 'Langol' for Mohajyote supported Jatiya Party (JaPa)-nominated candidate Rahgir Al Mahi Saad Ershad, 'Sheaf of paddy' for BNP-nominated candidate Rita Rahman, 'Motor Bus' for independent candidate Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif, 'Mango' for National People Party-nominated candidate Shafiul Alam, 'Fish' for Gano Front-nominated candidate Muhammad Shahidullah and 'Wall Clock' for Tauhidur Khelafat Majlish-nominated candidate Rahman Mandal Raju.

After getting their respective symbols, most of the contesting candidates and their workers and supporters started election campaigns through brining out rallies and visiting door-to-door seeking votes for their respective candidates and symbols.

Talking to the national news agency this afternoon, Returning Officer for by-poll in Rangpur-3 seat GM Sahatab Uddin said a total of four lakh 41 thousand and 224 voters are eligible to cast their votes in Rangpur-3 by-election slated for October 5 next.

Of them, two lakh 20 thousand and 823 voters are male and two lakh 20 thousand 401 voters are females, he said.

Voting of the by-election will be held on October 5 next using the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) at all 1,023 booths of 175 polling centres across the Rangpur-3 parliamentary constituency.

'A total of 3,244 election officials, including 175 Presiding Officers and 3,069 Assistant Presiding Officers and Polling Officers will conduct the voting process at all 175 polling centres in the constituency, Sahatab said.

Earlier, twelve aspirant candidates collected their nomination papers to vie in the upcoming Rangpur-3 by-poll, he said.

However, three of them, including Awami League (AL) leader Abdul Mazid, JaPa leaders SM Fakhr-uz-Zaman Jahangir and SM Yasser did not submit their nominations papers.

Nine candidates, including AL-nominated candidate Advocate Rezaul Karim Razu, JaPa nominated candidate Rahgir Al Mahi alias Saad Ershad, BNP-nominated candidate Rita Rahman, BNP leader and independent candidate Kawser Zaman Babla, independent candidate Hossain Mokbul Shahriar Asif, National People Party leader Shafiul Alam, Tauhidur Rahman Mandal Raju of Khelafat Majlish, Muhammad Shahidullah of Gano Front and Ekramul Haque of Bangladesh Congress submitted their nomination papers.

During the scrutiny, the Returning Officer cancelled nomination papers of two candidates, including independent candidate and BNP leader Kawser Zaman Babla and Ekramul Haque of Bangladesh Congress.

The Returning Officer declared seven submitted nomination papers as valid after the scrutiny.After withdrawal of his nomination paper by AL-nominated candidate Advocate Rezaul Karim Razu on Monday supporting Mohajyote candidate from JaPa as per AL's high command's decision, six candidates are reaming in the fray.

Earlier, the Election Commission announced the schedule for the by-poll in the Rangpur parliamentary constituency on September 1 last.

As per the announced schedule, the deadline for submission of nomination papers was September 9, submission of nomination papers by September 11 and last date for withdrawal of candidature was September 16 next, Sahatab added. The voting in the Rangpur-3 by-poll using EVMs at all booths will begin at 9 am and continue till 5 pm on October 5 next.

Source: Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha (BSS)